Tags

My loyal readers must be wondering where I’ve disappeared to!  
Well, I have wonderful news!  

I recently returned from a business-trip, during which I filmed a video for presentation on Kickstarter.  For those of you who don’t know what Kickstarter is, it’s an internet funding platform for independent projects.  Thanks to Kickstarter, many creative projects have been realized – projects that might otherwise never have seen the light of day.

As many of you know, I wrote a memoir about my Hollywood childhood, growing up as the daughter of a famous motion picture director/writer/producer-father and actress-mother (please visit http://www.aparisstateofmind.com/photo-album.html to see their pictures).  I spent the better part of 3+ years writing and re-writing that memoir (4 drafts) and, although several people in the book world appreciate the book, getting it published in these challenging times is no small feat!

Through a mystical set of circumstances, I recently met some people in the book world who are anxious to help me, once I get the funding in place.  With their encouragement, as well as with their technical advice and assistance, I’m finally going to get this memoir out there!  It will be published in a double-volume, along with my father’s autobiography, which was published in the early 1970’s but is now out of print.  

Of course, the biggest challenge is funding this project, and that’s where Kickstarter comes in.  (It costs a lot more money than I currently have to publish a book!)  And it needs to be done professionally and well.  After all, my intention is to honor my father – a wonderful and incredibly talented man, whom I adored (he was my best friend).
  
There are only so many hours in the day, and I’ve spent two months working on the Kickstarter book-project.  Hence, my near absence from the blogosphere…  The project is nearly ready to go up on the internet.  With luck, the link will be up within the next week or two.

Thank you for being patient with me…  I promise to keep you informed! 

