Tags

, , , , , , ,

 One of the most fun parts of my weekend in London was going to the theatre on Saturday night.  Being an anglophile, I wanted to see an English play, and what could be more English than Noel Coward?
Picture

What a great play!  And what great performances!  Every actor in it was wonderful, but I especially enjoyed Phoebe Waller-Bridge as Sorel Bliss.  The relationship between the mother, Judith Bliss, and her son and daughter reminded me so much of my relationship with my own kids.  Obviously, they adore each other, but they fight all the time!!!  Very, very, funny! 

Picture

 …Phoebe Waller-Bridge as Sorel 

Picture

 … Lindsay Duncan as Judith Bliss

Picture

 …The theatre, before the show

Picture

…At the end of the show


Picture

Picture

…What a wonderful set, huh?


Inside the historic, Noel Coward theatre…
Picture

Picture

The Noel Coward Theatre, St. Martin’s Lane, Charing Cross, London…
Picture

The one shadow cast over a perfect evening was that on the way to the theatre, my cab driver told me that soccer star, Fabrice Muamba had collapsed on the field, during a match.  The cause was a heart attack, and it wasn’t clear for some time whether he was going to live or die.  In fact, his heart stopped beating for 78 minutes!  Muamba is so loved that even members of the opposing team were crying their eyes out.  The following day, players were dedicating their matches to him.  Now, from what I understand, he’s making a miraculous recovery!
Click on this link for YouTube video of Fabrice Muamba…
