Tags

, , , ,

 I arrived in London at noon on a Friday via Eurostar, King’s Cross/St. Pancras station…
Picture

American tourists are always good for a laugh.  I stood next to a middle-aged couple as they were looking at the Tube map…  

Her to him: “So here we are at St. Pancreas…”

Next stop Sacred Spleen?

The last several times I’ve stayed in London, I’ve stayed at the Thistle, Marble Arch.  The location is great (Oxford Street), the rooms are large, the bathrooms are terrific and they have beautiful flower arrangements in the lobby.

Picture

That first evening, I had dinner at Chutney Mary’s, my favorite Indian restaurant in the world…
Picture

Picture

Picture

Picture

Picture

My aperitif was champagne, with hibiscus liqueur and  an edible hibiscus flower.


Picture

My starter was this little vegetarian, yummy thing, made out of spinach, artichokes, pine nuts and chilies, with a spicy, tomato dipping paste on the side.


Picture

My main course was a sampling of curries with Tandoori roti (the bread).


Picture

This was my dessert: 3 sorbets – mandarine orange, dark chocolate with a wedge of white chocolate on the top, and raspberry.  The mandarine orange was my favorite.


Picture

My tea had a flower in it.


When I was finished eating, this is what was left…
Picture

