Tags

,

I love Nature.  The Great, Outdoors…  The Mysterious, Green Wonder…  But, having spent most of my life in cities, I confess that the majority of what I’ve learned about the outdoors, I’ve learned inside.  I mean sometimes I watch the Discovery Channel.  The closest I get to actually communing with nature in person is when the squirrels are acting up and I watch them through the French doors of the dining room of my house in Connecticut.   So, what better place for a city girl like me to learn about nature than the Agriculture Expo in Paris?  Seven pavilions full of trees, plants, wildlife and everything you can possibly think of connected with farming!  A perfect way, I thought, to spend a rainy, Sunday afternoon.  Before I even got to the expo, I was seeing wildlife on the subway!  First, I met a cute, little Jack Russell with her favorite, pink, rubber pig…
Picture

This is what happens when the pig misbehaves and the Jack Russell has to give it hell…
Picture

Once at the Salon, I noticed some people brought pets of their own.  Here’s a guy walking his rodent…
Picture

I started learning things right away.  For example, Nature is apparently a very sexy place.  Forgive my rudeness, but there were butts everywhere!  There were also signs so you could tell what was what.  First, there were the white goat butts…
Picture

Then there were the brown, goat butts…
Picture

Then, a panorama of cow butts…
Picture

Here’s a human butt so you can tell the difference…
Picture

 ***                         ***                         ***

Picture

I was shocked to discover that sometimes, one kind of animal can actually look a lot like another kind of animal.  For example, even though this animal has exactly the same face as my dog, it is not half Yorkie and half Bichon Frise!  In fact, it’s 100% pig!

The picture below is not a puppy, either.  Notice the curly tail.  This is the main way you can recognize a pig…
Picture

Pigs like to eat and sleep, and they’re not very active, which makes them chubby.  (The same principle applies to humans.)  Pigs also have a problem with denial.  But please don’t tell them about it!  It would only make them sad.  It’s their denial that keeps them happy.  For example, this pig thinks it’s running very fast.  Actually, he’s having a dream about running very fast.  Even though no part of his body is actually moving, he has a happy little smile on his face because he’s proud of himself for doing all that running and burning off all those calories!  When he gets up, he’ll eat a big lunch before going back to sleep…
Picture

Pigs start training early in life for a long career of sleeping.  Sleepy piglets here and there…
Picture

Some parts of the Agricultural Salon I didn’t like at all.  Here’s evidence of just plain, bad manners.  Wouldn’t you agree?
Picture

I learned a lot about sheep, too.  For one thing, sheep are sassy and they don’t like having their pictures taken.  This one was just about to yell at me…
Picture

Sheep are also very rude to each other…
Picture

Sheep care nothing about personal grooming.  It’s hard to tell in this picture because everything is sort of the same color, but this guy has a long beard and it’s all full of straw and hay and he totally doesn’t care!
Picture

Baby goats are cute…  Once again, do not confuse them with puppies!
Picture

Some parts of the French, Agricultural Salon experience were confusing…
Picture

                                   ***                         ***                         ***

Picture

When I first saw this mess, I thought it was an omelet gone horribly wrong.  But no, it’s just proof that nature is not always tidy.  In fact, it’s eggs!!  And Chickens!!!  (Incidentally, I did extensive research on the subject as soon as I got home only to learn that among the so-called “experts,” not one of them knows which preceded which!  Well, never mind.  People who think they’re smarter than they actually are should be pitied, not scorned.) Mainly, I’m just surprised to learn that quiches and souffles had other options…
